Why Am I Here?


I have had a very good and satisfying blog at Blogger for many years.  But my work browser slowly became more obsolete and refused to upgrade, while the Google overlords who owned Blogger continued to upgrade their code almost weekly.  A few weeks ago, the site became inaccessible from work. 

So I decided to just mothball the blog and occasionally post something new from home, but at least all my important thoughts from the past several years would be safe in internet storage.  Forever.

Then Google decided to associate an obscure gmail account I was using with my blog.  I did not want that association and was no longer using that gmail address, so I deleted it.

Google deleted my entire internet presence.  Not just my email address.  Everything.

They left me not only blogless, but unable to comment on any blog that required an internet name.  And there is lots of shit going on in the world.  I can’t afford to be dark right now.

So here I am.

About Professor Hale

Currently living in Virginia
This entry was posted in Politics. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Why Am I Here?

  1. Giraffe says:

    You are tough to keep track of.

  2. Im still getting the hang of the new controls. This isn’t easy. Almost makes me want to give up being involved in the internet altogether and just be a full time lurker.

  3. MadPiper says:

    I’m relieved you’re still here. I discovered your absence when I clicked on your link with Vox and it failed.

  4. Updated my link to you. Welcome back

  5. Professor Hale says:

    That’s pretty much how I discovered it too.

  6. Hermit says:

    Welcome back. My nightly blog skimming sessions weren’t the same without you…

  7. Dalrock says:

    Good to see you are back. I’m glad I did a quick search. I’ll add you back to my blogroll.

  8. Dalrock says:

    So I decided to just mothball the blog and occasionally post something new from home, but at least all my important thoughts from the past several years would be safe in internet storage. Forever.

    Then Google decided to associate an obscure gmail account I was using with my blog. I did not want that association and was no longer using that gmail address, so I deleted it.

    Google deleted my entire internet presence. Not just my email address. Everything.

    You probably already know this, but google keeps a cache of most pages so if you know the post you want to recover you can get it that way. Just google the title and then click on the cached version to the right: http://webcache.googleusercontent.com/search?q=cache:lgYqI0SO4K0J:rebeluniv.blogspot.com/2012/10/waited-too-long.html+&cd=3&hl=en&ct=clnk&gl=us

    Bing does the same thing. If you wait too long though they crawl the page again and delete the cached page.

    A better option if they crawled your site is the internet archive wayback machine. It looks like they crawled your site once in April of last year. Unfortunately I get an error when I click on the date, but this looks like a temporary issue: http://wayback.archive.org/web/*/http://rebeluniv.blogspot.com

    Good luck.

  9. Thanks for the tip. But i think I will just count it as a loss and move on. The real intersting stuff is what I will do tomorrow, not what I did yesterday. At least that is what I tell myself to keep going.

  10. Steffen says:

    At least keep a record of your Ranger School anecdotes. I’m sure nearly everyone who visits your blog regularly enjoyed those. Even cribbing what you think is your best work and giving it an extra edit will be worthwhile for your readers, and might even give you new ideas.

  11. Scott says:

    You should at least try and recover the army/boot camp posts. Those were gold.

  12. DrW says:

    Glad to see you’re still here!

  13. Doomfinger says:

    I was wondering where you went… and where my Certificate in Rebellion was. I was beginning to think this university was one of those disreputable degree mills.

  14. Just waiting on your check to clear at the registrar’s office.

  15. Calvin says:

    I thought maybe you’d been shut down by the Minnesota Office of Higher Education. Fortunately Delenda est Carthago linked to your new blog.

  16. Ame says:

    glad i found you again! and i agree about the boot camp/army posts … those you need to keep.

    Ame

  17. Pingback: The Private Man’s update on the Manosphere | Dalrock

Leave a Reply

